Home STATE UGC sanctions 7 community colleges in state

UGC sanctions 7 community colleges in state


Reported by Chinmaya Dehury
Bhubaneswar, Dec 28:

In an effort to improve the employability of college students, the University Grants Commission (UGC) has given its nod to seven Community Colleges in the state and sanctioned a grant of Rs 2.45 crore for the development of the colleges.

The seven colleges would start functioning from the ensuing academic session with additional support from various industrial partners.

According to Higher Education department additional secretary Durga Prasad Behera, Government Autonomous College, Bhawanipatna, MPC College, Baripada, Dharanidhar Autonomous College, Keonjhar and Fakir Mohan Autonomous College, Baleswar will have courses in Tourism and Hospitality Management (THM) while Khallikote Autonomous College, Brahmapur, Government autonomous College, Rourkela and Vikram Dev College, Jeypore will offer courses in Retail Management.

Each community college will have 50 seats for which they will receive an annual assistance of Rs 35 lakh from the UGC..

All these colleges will have Industry partners as the students will be engaged after receiving vocational education. The colleges will sign a MoU with the Industry Partners and will ensure involvement of these partners at every stage of the running of the course.

It is to be noted that about 200 Community Colleges have been proposed by the Union Government across the country.

The Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD) had recently informed the state government in this regard asking it to identify the places immediately.