Home CRIME Two more held in Odisha constable test question leak case

Two more held in Odisha constable test question leak case


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Apr 4:

The Crime Branch of Odisha police today arrested two more persons allegedly involved in the question paper leak in the constable recruitment test scheduled on March 15, which had to be cancelled at the last minute.

Odisha PoliceThe two accused arrested have been identified as Satyanarayan Das and Shankar Sethi.

While Satyanarayan is posted as ASI (Wireless) at Boudh, Shankar works as stenographer in the office of the Chairman of State Selection Board (SSB), Odisha Police, Cuttack.

With this the total number of arrests in the case has reached to eight.

The fresh arrests comes a day ahead of the rescheduled constables’ written examination test to be held tomorrow (April 5) at 11 am.

Interestingly, the six persons arrested earlier on March 24 included four police personnel. Among them Kishore Kumar Mohanty, the general secretary of Odisha Police-Sepoy Sangh was also arrested for his alleged complicity in the case.

Though eight accused have been arrested so far, Crime Branch, which is probing into the question paper leak case, suspects involvement of more people in the incident.

It may be recalled that the constable examination which was to be conducted by Odisha Police State Council Board at 31 venues across the state was cancelled in the last minute after reports of question paper leak surfaced. The probe was handed over to the Crime Branch the same day.

Notably, nearly 40, 000 candidates had applied for the 1370 post of civil constables in various districts / establishments.

The vacancies for 1370 posts in various places are: Police Commissionerate, BBSR-CTC, BBSR (160), Jagatsinghpur (08), Jajpur (37), Nayagarh (17), Kendrapara (68), Puri (105), Khordha (10), Baleswar (86), Mayurbhanj (29), Ganjam (36), Berhampur (47), Gajapati (09), Kandhamal (15), Angul (99), Dhenkanal (32), Sambalpur (37), Bargarh (86), Balangir (83), Jharsuguda (18), Subarnapur (08), Koraput (58), Malkangiri (43), Rayagada (21), Kalahandi (62), Nuapada (90), Nabarangpur (08), Sundargarh (16), Rourkela (19), Keonjhar (36), GRP, Cuttack (10) and GRP, Rourkela (19).