Home INDIA & BEYOND Trinamool wins 11 out of 14 seats declared in Bengal

Trinamool wins 11 out of 14 seats declared in Bengal


Kolkata, May 16 :

West Bengal’s ruling Trinamool Congress won 11 of the 14 Lok Sabha seats declared in the state so far.
Mamata Banerjee
The Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPi-M), the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress shared the remaining three seats.

Among the Trinamool’s winning candidates is former railway minister Dinesh Trivedi, who retained his Barrackpore seat, defeating his nearest rival Subhasini Ali of the CPI-M by a margin of 213,785 votes.

Harvard professor and Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose’s grandnephew Sugata Bose was elected from Jadavpur, humbling CPI-M’s Sujan Chakraborty by a margin of 125,440 votes.

Tapas Mandal of the Trinamool won from Ranagath with a 570,306 margin over Archana Biswas of CPI-M.

Other Trinamool winners include film actors Satabdi Roy (Birbhum), Tapas Pal (Krishnanagar). Both of them were sitting MPs.

State Congress president and union minister Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury won from Baharampur getting a massive 3,56,275 votes more than his nearest rival, Trinamool candidate and noted singer Indranil Sen.