Home ODISHA LATEST Traffic volunteers in four cities of Odisha soon

Traffic volunteers in four cities of Odisha soon


Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government has decided to rope in traffic volunteers in four cities of the state– Rourkela, Berhampur, Sambalpur and Balasore.

A decision in this regard was taken at a high-level meeting chaired by Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi at the State Secretariat today.

“Student Traffic Volunteers will be appointed in Rourkela, Berhampur, Sambalpur and Balasore and such system will be extended to other cities of the state in a phased manner,” said Transport Commissioner Madhusudan Padhi after the meeting.

In view of the rise in number of road accidents in the state, it was decided in the meeting to repair those major roads which are in deteriorated condition within 3 months.

“It has been decided to rectify engineering defects on NHs, state highways and major roads within three months. Collectors of different districts, after conducting survey, have come up with some measures in this regard,” he said.

This apart, a decision was taken for launching of traffic awareness campaign across the state. A special campaign will be held to create awareness among drivers and supporting staff of trucks and buses, the official said, adding that a State Management Group comprising heads of various departments will be constituted for the purpose of creating awareness.