Home ODISHA LATEST Tight security for counting of votes in city

Tight security for counting of votes in city


Reported by Santosh Jagdev

Bhubaneswar, May 15:

With barely hours to go for the counting of votes for the Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat and the five Assembly constituencies under it to begin at the BJB Autonomous College here, Commissionerate police have put in place en elaborate and foolproof security at the venue and in the city in general.


“A three-layered security system has been put in place in and around the BJB College. A total of 32 platoons of police force have been deployed in twin city out of which 20 platoons have been detailed in Bhubaneswar to guard the counting process and control traffic system,” Twin city Commissioner of Police (CP) Dr RP Sharma said here today.

Two platoons of Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) have also been deployed around the nine strong rooms inside which Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) have been kept for counting tomorrow. This apart, another one platoon of Odisha Special Armed Police (OSAP) has been detailed to guard the counting room. Odisha police personnel have been pressed into service outside the college, Dr Sharma informed.

The Commissioner said additional police personnel have also been placed at various party offices to prevent any untoward incident. “If we find any candidate creating any disturbance after their win or loss in election or while taking out victory processions, stringent action will be taken against them,” the CP added.

Besides the deployment of security personnel, arrangements have also been made for video recording at counting centres to record any disturbance during vote counting.


Meanwhile, the Election Commission has finished all preparations for counting of votes at the BJB College.

Counting will be held in BJB College for five Assemblies and one Lok Sabha seat in which a total of 75 candidates are in the fray. The assembly seats are Jatni, Jayadev, Bhubaneswar Ekamara, Bhubaneswar Middle and Bhubaneswar North.

For these assembly seats, Room no- 111, 112 and 113 of Science block and Room no- 114 and 115 of Arts block have been selected for counting. The counting of votes will start from 8 am with postal ballot being counted first, to be followed by the counting of votes in EVMS for which three observers have been appointed, informed Returning officer Manoj Patnaik, ADM Bhubaneswar.

For counting of Assembly votes, there would be seven tables in each counting centre while there would be special tables for the Returning Officers (ROs) and poll observers. There would be a counting supervisor, counting assistant and micro observer for each table while a general observer would be in charge of each hall, he added.