Home ODISHA LATEST Three senior leaders quit Congress in Odisha

Three senior leaders quit Congress in Odisha


Bhubaneswar/Berhampur: In a major jolt to Odisha unit of Congress, three senior leaders quit the party citing “no future” for them in the party, sources said today.

They have sent their resignation letters to the All India Congress Committee (AICC) President Rahul Gandhi.

The leaders who have resigned from the age-old party, include former Union Minister Chandrasekhar Sahu, Ganjam district president of the party Bhagaban Gantayat and All India Congress Committee member Bikram Panda.

The trio will join the BJD during the ruling party’s President and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik’s visit to the city on April 4.

“We have decided to quit the party (Congress) seeing there will be no future for our political career in this party as indiscipline and factionalisim is growing day by day,” said Gantayat adding he along with others will join BJD.

Meanwhile, Sahu, however, didn’t make it clear about his next move. “Congress has given me a lot but finally I am quitting the party out of frustration and with a heavy heart,” he said.

The three Congress leaders held a meeting with their supporters on Tuesday to discuss about their future plans.

Besides, several grass-root level Congress leaders of the district also resigned from the party.