Home SPORTS Three meet records broken at junior district athletics

Three meet records broken at junior district athletics


Haridwar, April 27 :

Three meet records were created here Sunday as the curtains finally came down amidst some scintillating performances at the 12th National Inter-District Junior Athletics Meet.

Abhey Gupta of Ambala (Haryana) set the momentum early in the day as he hurled the discus to a distance of 48.68m, shattering the existing meet record of Vanam Sharma of Jhunjhunu (Rajasthan) in the boys under-16 discus throw. The previous record stood at 47.97m and was created in the 2013 edition of the meet. athletics

However, Rajasthan drew some consolation Sunday when Ravi Kumar of Churu grabbed the second position with a best throw of 47.45m. Ujjawal of Jhajjar (Haryana) finished third with a throw of 47.30m.

East Delhi’s Shahnawaz Khan shattered the existing meet record in the boys under-14 high jump with an effort of 1.85m, bettering the existing mark of Anil Kumar Shahoo of Mumbai Suburb district.

The previous mark stood at 1.84m. The second place went to Shubham Mishra of Allahabad district, with a performance of 1.75m while Varun Kakran was pipped to the third place after a tie, and on the ground that the former finished with a better second-best jump.

It was double celebration for Delhi as Shivangi Rawat from New Delhi district, broke the existing meet record in the girls under-16 100m hurdles race. Rawat clocked 15.68 secs, bettering the previous mark of 15.78sec set by Sapna Kumari of Ramghar district (Jharkhand) in the 2013 edition.

The defending champion was relegated to second position this time as she finished with a lacklustre performance of 16.64sec.

Jasmi Kisku of Cuttack district (Odisha) took the bronze medal, clocking 16.84sec.

In other events, R. Rajesh of Tiruchirapalli district (TN) finished on top in the boys under-16 100m hurdles event, clocking 14.48sec, while Binkash Barwa of Sundergarh district (Odisha) finished a close second with a timing of 14.51sec. Barwa’s state-mate Prasanjit from Cuttack district, took the bronze medal, clocking 15.02sec.

Gurinder Vir Singh of Jalandhar district sprinted to the top position in the 100m race for the boys under-14 category, cruising at 11.81sec, while Bulandshahar district’s Vishal (12.05sec) and Sandeep Khalkho (12.16sec) of Pitthorgarh district (Uttarakhand) finished second and third respectively.

Antima Kumari of Saran district (Bihar) whisked away the 100m title in the girls under-14 category, clocking 13.24sec while U. Padmasari (13.49sec) of Andhra Pradesh and Donald Francis of New Delhi district (13.87sec) took the silver and bronze medal respectively.

Cuttack district of Odisha dominated the 100m race in the boys under-16 category as Abhijit Sahu (11.67sec) and Prasanjeet Kujur (11.75sec) took the first and second position respectively. Siliguri district’s Paritosh Barman finished in third place, clocking 11.77sec.

The top honours in the girls under-16 for the 100m race also went to Cuttack district’s Tapati Sahoo, who clocked 13.34sec, to finish ahead of her rivals. Ritu Insan of Kaithal district clocked 13.5sec and Fathima of Malappuram (Kerala) finished the race in 13.54sec to take the second and third position respectively.