Home ODISHA LATEST Three from Odisha in Indian team for HWL Final

Three from Odisha in Indian team for HWL Final


Bhubaneswar: Three Odisha players found place in team India for the upcoming men’s Hockey World League (HWL) Final to be played here from December 1 till 10.

Defenders Birendra Lakra, Dipsan Tirkey and Amit Rohidas have been selected in the 18-member squad led by Manpreet Singh for the international hockey tournament scheduled at Kalinga Stadium.

Also Read: Ticket sale for Odisha Hockey World League begins at stadium counter

For the first time, three players from the state will play an international event on the home ground.

While Birendra, Dipsan and Amit were included in the national team, former-skipper Sardar Singh was dropped from the squad for the HWL Final.

Indian Squad:

Goalkeepers – Akash Anil Chikte, Suraj Karkera

Defenders – Harmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Dipsan Tirkey, Varun Kumar, Rupinderpal Singh, Birendra Lakra

Midfielders – Manpreet Singh (C), Chinglensana Singh (VC), SK Uthappa, Sumit, Kothajit Singh

Forwards – SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Gurjant Singh