Home STATE 3rd convocation of SOA Varsity on Apr 19

3rd convocation of SOA Varsity on Apr 19


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Apr 16:

The Siksha O Anusandhan (SOA) University will host its third Convocation at the ‘Bansuri Guru Auditorium’ in the campus of the Institute of Technical Education and Research (ITER), Jagamohan Nagar here on April 19.

Former Director General of Police, Uttar Pradesh, Dr Chandrabhanu Satpathy will be the chief guest and Padma Shri Dr Avinash Chander, Scientific Advisor to the Defence minister, Secretary to the ministry of Defence (R&D) and Director General of Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) will be the guest of honour on the occasion.

Six eminent persons from different walks of life will be decorated with honorary Doctoral degrees (Honoris Causa) on the occasion.

They are Dr Kota Harinarayana, the Brahmapur-born scientist who contributed greatly in developing the state-of-the-art high technology combat aircraft and presently the chairman of Systems Engineering Board set up by DRDO, Dr Kopillil Radhakrishnan, chairman, Space Commission and ISRO and secretary, department of Space, Dr Sitakant Mohapatra, litterateur and Jnanpith award winner, Prof Kasturi Lal Chopra, eminent scientist, Dr Kiran Karnik, former President of NASSCOM and Prof Venkat Raman Nagarajan, professor Emeritus in Neuroscience, Dr MGR Medical University, Tamil Nadu.

Degrees of under graduate, post graduate courses as well as medals for 2012-13 and PhD scholars will be awarded at the convocation.

The convocation would be presided over by SOA University chancellor Prof Khagapati Pradhan.