Home SPORTS Sub Jr Women’s National: Hockey India adds Gangpur-Odisha 

Sub Jr Women’s National: Hockey India adds Gangpur-Odisha 


Odisha Sun Times Sports Bureau
New Delhi, May 13:

Hockey India today added Hockey Gangpur-Odisha and Vidarbha Hockey Association to the 4th Hockey India Sub-Junior Women’s National Championship 2014.

While Division-B matches of the championship would kick off at Haldwani in Uttarakhand on May 15, the Division-A matches will commence on May 19 at Pune in Maharashtra.

A total of 34 teams will participate this year of which Division B will have 17 teams and Division A 16.

Each Division will be further divided into four pools.

Division B will have five teams in Pool A and B and four teams each in Pool B, C and D whereas Pool A, B, C & D of Division A will have 4 teams each.

The matches will be played in a phased manner with Division B first completing its matches and the same will be played from May 15 to 25.

Teams under Division A will play their matches from May 19 to 27.

The inaugural match of the season will be played between Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat on Pitch 1 under Division B.

Briefing newsmen on the occasion, Ms Elena Norman, CEO, Hockey India said; “The domestic championship that has been played this year has brought to the forefront young talent with immense potential,l which now needs to be nurtured further. With the fourth season of the championship all set to commence, we expect exciting results and hope to identify promising talent.”