Home SPORTS SPL Cricket : SRM varsity thrash Jadavpur, make it to final

SPL Cricket : SRM varsity thrash Jadavpur, make it to final


Odisha Sun Times Bureau

Bhubaneswar, Feb. 28: Last year’s champions SRM University of Chennai thrashed Jadavpur University by 81 runs in the first semifinal to enter the final of the SOA Premier League (SPL) cricket championship at the SOA University stadium here last night.

Winning the toss, SRM posted a huge 218 for 5 in the allotted 20 overs- powered by Martin Sanjeev’s hurricane 129 off only 62 balls- and then bowled out Jadavpur for 137 in 14.4 overs.

SRM will now meet the winner of the other semifinal tie between Ravenshaw University and Gitam University- being played tonight-in tomorrow’s final.

Sanjeev’s knock, which sealed Jadavpur’s fate, was laced with 16 hits to the ropes besides eight sixes. Jadavpur’s paceman Arpan Mazumdar was the most successful bowler for his side with a haul of 2 for 31.

Facing a large total, Jadavpur tried to force the pace from the beginning, but kept losing wickets.

Except Akash Basu, who made 69 off 31 balls and Nabendu Ghosh (38 off 16 balls) no other batsman could make an impression.

Basu’s knock contained eight fours and five sixes while Ghosh hit six boundaries and two sixes. Spinner S Srinivas captured three wickets for SRM, conceding 26 runs.