Home SPORTS SPL Cricket championship to kick off tomorrow

SPL Cricket championship to kick off tomorrow


Odisha Sun Times Sports Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Feb 21:

A dozen University teams including defending champions SRM University, Chennai, will be vying for top honours in the 5th SOA Premier League (SPL) cricket championship beginning at the SOA University stadium here on February 22.

The tournament will be inaugurated by former Indian seamer Debasish Mohanty.SOA SPL

The tournament, with a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh for the winners and Rs 50,000 for the runner-up, will be played on round-robin basis with the teams split into four groups. The top four teams will qualify for the semifinals”, Prof RK Hota, convener of the tournament and additional dean of ITER told reporters here today.

There will be cash awards for the losing semifinalists as well.

The 20-over matches would be played under floodlights, he added.

The other teams participating in the championship include last year’s runner-up Lovely Professional University, Jadavpur University, Calcutta University, Delhi Technological University, Andhra University and Gitam University.

The local challenge will be spearheaded by the hosts SOA University, Utkal University, Ravenshaw University, Vir Surendra Sai University of Technology (VSSUT) and Biju Patnaik University of Technology (BPUT).

Hosts SOA University have been placed in Group-A along with Gitam University and Delhi Technological University while Group-B comprises reigning champions SRM University, former winners Utkal University and VSSUT.

In Group-C, Calcutta University will vie with Ravenshaw University and Lovely Professional University for a place in the semifinals while Group-D will have Andhra University, Jadavpur University and BPUT.

“The semifinals will be played on February 27 and the final the next day, Hota said, adding separate prizes will be presented to the player of the tournament, player of the final, best batsman and best bowler.