Home SPORTS SPL cricket-2014: Jadavpur storm into semis

SPL cricket-2014: Jadavpur storm into semis


Odisha Sun Times Sports Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Feb 25:

Jadavpur University notched up their second consecutive victory in Group-D brushing aside Andhra University by 8 wickets to qualify for the semifinals of the 5th inter-university SOA Premier League (SPL) cricket championship at the SOA University stadium here on Tuesday.


Electing to bat, Andhra were bowled out for 157 in 19.4 overs with G Saleh and Yellaji contributing 38 and 25 runs respectively.  Anurag Khan (3/34) and off spinner Sukalyan Roy (3/13) were the pick of the bowlers for Jadavpur.

In reply, Jadavpur chased down the target scoring 161 for 2 in 15.4 overs.

Earlier in the day, a blistering 109 off 58 balls by Avinab Sagar helped Gitam University thrash Delhi Technological University (DTU) by 66 runs in the Group-A match. Off spinner Karan Narang of DTU was the most successful bowler bagging 5 for 43.

Chasing a stiff target of 212 in the allotted 20 overs, DTU folded up for 146 in 19.4 overs with Avinab Jain scoring the highest 62. For Gitam, Yashwant Jasti took three wickets conceding 29 runs.

With this defeat, DTU has crashed out of the tournament.

In a match held yesterday, DTU had lost to SOAU by 53 runs. In reply to SOAU’s 218 for 7, DTU could manage to make 165 for 7 in 20 overs.

For SOAU, Avinash Bhuyan (56) and Sarthak Das (53) were the main contributors while Palash (3/45) was the most successful bowler for DTU.

Kundan Prajapati (3/23) and Sk Mazhar (2/24) of SOAU were the most successful bowlers.