Home CRIME Special units to probe violence against women in Odisha

Special units to probe violence against women in Odisha


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Jun 20:

Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik today approved the opening of seven special units in seven police districts to expedite probe into violence against women and monitor legal action against the accused.


The special unit, to be known as Investigating Units for Crimes Against Women (IUCAW), will work in Bhubaneswar, Baleswar, Sambalpur, Rourkela, Brahmapur, Mayurbhanj and Angul.

The seven units will consist of 105 policemen with one additional superintendent of police (ASP), four deputy superintendents of police (DSPs), four Inspectors, four sub inspectors (SIs) and four constables in each unit.

As per the decision, one-third of the posts will be reserved for women.

Apart from investigating into the crimes against women, these units will take pre-emptive measures to curb such crimes, collect intelligence inputs, curb organised crimes, monitor functioning of legal provisions and work for raising awareness among the people.