Home ODISHA LATEST Six nominations for BMC polls rejected

Six nominations for BMC polls rejected


OST Bureau

Bhubaneswar, Dec 23:

Six nomination papers were rejected, including one filed by a Congress candidate, during the scrutiny for the polls of Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC) scheduled to be held on January 8, said state election commission (SEC) sources.
The candidates whose nomination papers were rejected are Madhusudan Behera of ward number-5 (Ind), Sima Dalei of ward no-9 (Congress), Lipsa Nayak of ward no-14 (Utkal Bharat), Pradyumna Pradhan of ward no-21 (Ind), Madhuri Kinnar of ward no-30 (Ind) and Ajay Kumar Subuddhi of ward no-66 (Ind), the sources said.

Some candidates may withdraw their nominations in the coming two days as the last date of withdrawal of candidature is December 26.

The BJD is trying hard to persuade the many rebel candidates, who have filed their nomination papers after ebing denied the party tickets, to withdraw their nominations.

While 1120 nomination papers were sold, 451 candidates had filed their nomination papers,

Meanwhile, various political parties and candidates have intensified campaigning for the BMC polls with candidates starting to visit their wards. They have started door to door campaigns to woo the voters.