Home ODISHA LATEST Seven tribals with Maoist links surrender in Koraput

Seven tribals with Maoist links surrender in Koraput


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Narayanpatna (Koraput), May 21:

atmosomorpono korithiba maubadi

Fed up with the anti-tribal policy of the Maoists and aware of being hounded by the police, seven tribals of Narayanpatna block with links to the banned organisation Chasi Mulia Adivasi Sangh (CMAS) and CPI (Maoist) surrendered to the police this afternoon in Odisha’s Koraput district.

Briefing newsmen soon after their surrender, south-western IG Yashwant Jethwa said the seven Maoists—Rajendra Kendruka (21) of Chintaguda village, Damba Tropka (20) and Rama Habika (19) of Damba village, Dumburi Miniaka (21), Ratanu Mandangi (19) and Sana Mangandi (32) of Gadaraguda village and Daldi Kulasika of Narikhilwa village—had joined the CMAS in 2004.

“Later they joined the CPI-Maoist outfit and indulged in the several violent activities”, Jethwa added.

“The police would make an appeal to the state government to provide them with facilities under the policy for surrendered Maoists”, he informed.