Seven Odisha players in AITA quarters


    aita junior

    OST Sports Bureau
    Bhubaneswar, Sep 25:

    Seven players from hosts Odisha, including four boys and three girls, entered the quarterfinals of the AITA Champions Series Under-14 tennis championship at the SOA University Sports Complex here on Tuesday.

    Boy’s top seed Swostik Pradhan (Odisha) got a walkover from his state mate Rahul Behera while third seed Mahesh Mohapatra defeated compatriot Sahil Kumar 9-0 in the pre-quarterfinals.

    Fourth seed Pratyush Chhotray beat Varun Kumar Mudipalli of Andhra Pradesh 9-1 while Aditya Satpathy prevailed over the eighth seed Pratyush Mohanty 9-3 in other matches.

    In another match, second seed Arvind Sunder (Karnataka) defeated Sumit Mallick of West Bengal 9-3 in a pre-quarterfinal tie while fifth seed N Kirandevaa of Tamil Nadu outplayed Kabir Hans of Odisha 9-2.

    In other matches, Asish S Sinha of Jharkhand beat Raghava C Gannavarapu of Andhra Pradesh 9-2 and Mohd Sheikh Iftikhar of Assam defeated MV Surya Sushant of Andhra Pradesh 9-5 to complete the quarterfinal line-up.

    In the girl’s section, fifth seed Anaam Almas of Odisha beat Anjum Sheikh Mubashira of Andhra Pradesh 9-7 while West Bengals Shreya Mondal caused an upset by beating fourth seed Anisha Jain of Karnataka 9-3.

    In another match, sixth seed Bhakti Shah of Andhra Pradesh beat S Hansda of Odisha 9-1 while Sameera Salihundam of Andhra Pradesh defeated Bipasha Mehn of her own state 9-5.