Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Feb 15:

Voting for the second phase of the three-tier panchayat polls in Odisha began today from 7 am at polling booths across the state.

The voting, being held for 175 Zilla Parishad Members in 65 blocks across 29 districts out of 30, will continue till noon.

A total of 53,62,814 voters will exercise their franchise in 1,386 Gram Panchayats having 18,581 wards in the second-phase polls.

Security arrangements have been tightened in Maoist-hit districts Nuapada, Malkangiri, Koraput and Gajapati. Besides, CCTV cameras have been installed at sensitive booths.

However, violence erupted at several places during polling. A group clash ensued at a polling booth in Ghasipura following which police forces were deployed at the spot.

On the other hand, Presiding Officer was thrashed for opposing proxy voting at Radhanga under Bisam Katak block in Rayagada district.

Similarly, miscreants captured booth at Chitiri panchayat under Danagadi block in Jajpur district.