Home ECONOMY Second phase NFSA roll out in 16 Odisha districts from Oct 29

Second phase NFSA roll out in 16 Odisha districts from Oct 29


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Oct 17:

National Food Security Act (NFSA) roll out would begin in 16 districts of Odisha in the second phase starting October 29.

ration card

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is scheduled to inaugurate the distribution of digitised ration cards in a special function in Mayurbhanj.

“We would start distribution of digitised ration cards from October 29. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik would inaugurate the second phase distribution from Mayurbhanj. Sixteen districts of the state would be covered in the second phase,” said Food, Supplies & Consumer Welfare Minister Sanjay Dasburma.

In the second phase, as many as 52 lakh digitised ration cards would be distributed in this phase. Overall, 1, 99, 50, 000 beneficiaries will be brought under the scheme in this phase.

Digital card distribution is in full swing in 14 of the districts of the state as the scheme is scheduled to go live from November 1 in the state.

It may be mentioned that 3.26 crore beneficiaries of the state will be eligible to avail the subsidised food grains under this scheme. The legitimate card holders would get 5 kg rice and wheat at Rs 3 and Rs 2 a kilo respectively every month under it.

In the first phase, the state government is trying to complete distribution of new ration cards at the panchayat level in the 14 districts such as Kandhamal, Angul, Sonepur, Bolangir, Sambalpur, Bargarh, Nuapada, Malkangiri, Jharsuguda, Kalahandi, Gajapati, Koraput, Boudh and Deogarh.

Notably, 93.35 lakh beneficiaries of 26.33 lakh families have been brought under NFSA in the first phase across 14 other districts of the state.