Home HEADLINES Search for new VC of Ravenshaw Univ in Odisha begins; 12 shortlisted

Search for new VC of Ravenshaw Univ in Odisha begins; 12 shortlisted


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Cuttack, Nov 5:

Twelve eminent academics have been shortlisted for the post of vice-chancellor of the Ravenshaw University in Odisha, sources said.

The formsl interview of the 12 candidates, nominated by a three-member Search Committee, would be held on November 10 and 11.

Ravenshaw UniversityThe three-member Search Committee, formed by the Chancellor of Universities and Governor, has NR Madhav Menon as the chairman, representative of the Chancellor, RP Kaushik of Ravenshaw Executive Committee and UGC representative VS Chouhan as the other members.

The 12 candidates nominated by the Committee are Nachiketa Das, head of the department of Geology, Ravenshaw University, former vice chancellor of North Odisha University Sanghamitra Mohanty, former head of the department of Botany of Utkal University Hemant Kumar Patra, former professor Samson Maharana, vice chancellor of Tirupati University of Culture Dr Harekrushna Satpathy, former vice chancellor of Fakir Mohan University Kumarbara Das, former vice chancellor of Sambalpur University Bishnu Charan Barik, former dean of Odisha University of Agriculture Technology (OUAT) Sanjay Samantray and professors of Osmania University Prof BR Tripathy, Prakash Sarangi and Prof Bag.

The eligibility criteria for a candidate for the post of Ravenshaw University includes the experience of at least 10 years as a professor.

The nominated candidates will have to submit their documents on their 10-year experience as professors and other qualifications at the time of the interview, the sources said.

The committee, during interview would select three candidates and send its recommendation to the Chancellor, who would finally select one of them as the new VC of Ravenshaw University.

The post of VC of Ravenshaw University would be filled up after the superannuation of Prof Baishnab Charan Tripathy on November 24.