Home ODISHA LATEST Rohit to be deputy chief whip

Rohit to be deputy chief whip


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 24:

The BJD Friday named its Redhakhol MLA Rohit Pujari as the deputy governmenthief whip in the newly constituted Odisha Assembly.

Rohit Pujari
Rohit Pujari

Earlier Anant Das had been named as the government chief whip.

Sources said chief minister Naveen Patnaik is very likely to announce the name of his his party’s nominee for the post of the Speaker today.

Informed sources said Niranjan Pujari and Pramila Mallick have been shortlisted along with Mangala Kisan for the Speaker’s post.

However, the final decision rests with the BJD chief Naveen Patnaik, the sources said, adding, it would not be surprising if someone else, who does not already feature in the speculations, is named the new Speaker.