Home STATE Ration card bungling: Eggs hurled at Odisha Minister’s vehicle

Ration card bungling: Eggs hurled at Odisha Minister’s vehicle


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Puri, Jan 3:

Members of district unit of Congress today hurled eggs and tomatoes at the vehicle of Food and Consumer Welfare Minister Sanjay Das Burma parked on the premises of Special Circuit House here alleging largescale irregularities in the allotment of ration cards to beneficiaries under National Food Security Act (NFSA).

egg attack

Around half dozen activists of Congress bearing flags in their hands barged into the premises shouting slogans against the Minister and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik over irregularities in ration card allocation.

“Naveen Patnaik government is anti-poor. Their politicians and ministers have obtained ration cards which is meant for poor people. A movement is gaining steam against this. The Congress party will fight for this and we won’t tolerate this anymore. Food and Consumer Welfare Minister Sanjay Das Burma should resign from his post,” a Congress agitator demanded.

The activists alleged that the people’s respresentatives owing allegiance to the ruling party in the state have entolled themselves to avail the benefits of subsidised food grains scheme. Despite their names figuring in the list, the government isn’t initiating action against them.

“Puri Zilla Parishad president Dibakar Patra is doing vote bank politics. He played a major role in Sanjay Das Burma winning elections. That is the reason why he is frightened to take action against Patra. He had won the elections with narrow margin of 300 votes and with the help of Patra. If the Naveen Patnaik government is doing clean governance then prove it by initiating action against him,” another agitator alleged.

Notably, a ration card was issued in the name of Sabita Patra, wife of Puri Zilla Parishad president Dibakar Patra. The matter was said to be brushed under the carpet.

As per reports, names Puri Zilla Parishad vice-president Sakhimani Baral, Chairpersons of Nimapara block Sumitra Sahu and Gop block Sabita Sahu have also found place in the beneficiary list.