Home SPORTS Ranji Trophy: Haryana spinners restrict Odisha

Ranji Trophy: Haryana spinners restrict Odisha


OST Sports Bureau

Bhubaneswar, Dec 30:

Haryana spinners Amit Mishra and Jayant Yadav restricted Odisha to 221 for 9 on the first day of the Ranji Trophy Elite-A tournament at the East Coast Railway stadium here on Monday.

Electing to bat, Odisha lost the first wicket at 16 when the  in-form batsman Natraj Behera went for a duck.cricket 3

However, Girija Rout (94) and Niranjan Behera (38) brought stability to the innings with a 102-run partnership.

After Behera’s dismissal, Govind Poddar joined Rout and the duo had a 38-run partnership.

With the dismissal of Rout, Odisha was in trouble as wickets began to fall at regular intervals.

Captain Biplab Samantray was out for 8 followed by wicket-keeper Haladhar Das for no score.

Despite some resistance by the tail-enders, the hosts finished with a poor score of 221 with just one wicket left to fall.

For Haryana, Amit Mishra returned with 4 for 78 while Jayant Yadav claimed 3 wickets for 47 runs.