Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Nov 21:

Odisha had a field day today as it restricted Karnataka team to a meager 179 runs at Group B match of Ranji Trophy being played at Airforce Complex Ground, Palam in New Delhi.

Basant Mohanty
Basant Mohanty

The Odisha speedsters struck early with Mayank Agarwal ran himself out when the score was 6. Five players reached the double digit score with wicketkeeper-batsman CM Gautam scoring 54 runs.

The Karnataka team was bundled out for 179 runs owing to a disciplined bowling and fielding. Odisha’s bowling attack led by Basant Mohanty and Biplab Samantaray shared five wickets among themselves. Suryakant Pradhan, Alok Mangaraj and Dhiraj Singh shared a wicket each. Remaining two wickets came in the form of run outs.

In reply to Karnataka’s 179, Odisha openers Sandeep Pattanaik and Ranjit Singh began the innings cautiously. When the duo was looking set, Sandeep was bowled out for 18. At stumps, Odisha were 42/2 with Govinda Poddar (16) and Dhiraj Singh (0) on crease.