Home ODISHA LATEST Rajya Sabha by elections for 9 newly vacant seats on June 19

Rajya Sabha by elections for 9 newly vacant seats on June 19


Odisha Sun Times Bureau

New Delhi/ Bhubaneswar, May 27:

The Election Commission today announced that by-election to eight of the nine Rajya Sabha seats, including one in Odisha,which fell vacant recently will be held on June 19.

rajya sabha

The seats where by-polls will be held on June 19 are Odisha (following resignation of BJD member Ananga Uday Singh Deo to contest assembly elections), Jharkhand (following resignation of Trinamool Congress MP K D Singh), Uttar Pradesh (after BSP’s S P Singh Baghel resigned), , Bihar (following election of Rajiv Pratap Rudy of the BJP, Ram Vilas Paswan of LJP and Ram Kripal Yadav of RJD to the Lok Sabha), Madhya Pradesh (after Faggan Singh Kulaste of BJP was elected to the lower house) and Maharashtra (with the election of NCP’s Tariq Anwar to the Lok Sabha).

The notification will be issued on June 2 and June 9 will be the last date of filing nominations.

After scrutiny of nominations the next day, candidates can withdraw their nominations by June 12.

The EC said holding of the by-poll to fill up the vacancy of late N Janardhana Reddy from Andhra Pradesh will be considered after the Rajya Sabha Chairman decides as to which state — Telangana or Andhra Pradesh — the vacancy pertains according to the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014.