Home INDIA & BEYOND Rajnath files nomination from Lucknow

Rajnath files nomination from Lucknow


Lucknow, April 5 :

BJP president Rajnath Singh Saturday filed his nomination papers from the Lucknow parliamentary constituency.

Rajnath Singh, who reached the city Friday evening, was accompanied by senior party leaders, including Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) state president Laxmikant Bajpayi, incumbent MP Lalji Tandon and city mayor Dinesh Sharma.

Rajnath Singh, President, BJP
Rajnath Singh, President, BJP

He reached the collectorate in a procession to file the nomination papers from Lucknow, a seat from where he is trying his luck for the first time.

Rajnath Singh was earlier scheduled to file the papers April 7 but on astrological advice preponed it to Saturday. He also offered a special puja in the morning.

Former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee is a three-time MP from the seat, considered safe for the BJP, which has held it for the last two decades.

The 62-year-old BJP leader has appointed Shiv Kumar, personal assistant of Vajpayee as his chief election manager while Lalji tandon and Dinesh Sharma will be overseeing the campaigning.

Savitri Singh, wife of the BJP leader, alongwith her son Pankaj Singh and other family members are camping in the city to seek votes for the BJP president.

Soon after filing the papers, Singh, a former UP chief minister, told IANS that Lucknow was his home and he had full confidence that he will “get the love and support” of the people of the state capital.

Exuding confidence he also claimed a groundswell in BJP’s favour and added that the country was on a threshold of change.

Lucknow will go to the polls April 30.

Rajnath Singh alleged that Congress was the “biggest communal party” in the country and added that after winning, he will try to fulfil the unfulfilled dreams of Vajpayee.

BSP has fielded former urban development minister Nakul Dubey and Congress has made former state president and legislator from Lucknow (Cantt) Rita Bahuguna Joshi its candidate.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) had named Ashok Bajpayi as its candidate but changed him at the last minute and fielded state minister for science Abhishek Mishra.