Home SPORTS Punjab retain Junior Men’s National Hockey title

Punjab retain Junior Men’s National Hockey title


Odisha Sun Times sports Bureau
Chennai, Apr 8:

Punjab retained the 4th Hockey India Junior Men National Championship 2014 (Division A) title after they outplayed Hockey Odisha by 6-2 goals in the final here on Sunday night.

Punjab took control of the game from the very 1st minute when Harjeet Singh converted a penalty corner. This was followed by two quick field goals by Simranjeet Singh and Baljinder Singh in the 9th and 14th minute.

However, Hockey Odisha reduced the margin after Sunil Ekka scored a field goal in the 30thminute.

The second half of the match also saw a similar result as Punjab scored three more goals by Parvinder Singh, Ajit Pandit and Simranjeet Singh in the 57th, 59th and 67th minute respectively while Hockey Odisha managed to score one more goal in the 44th minute through Joseph Toppo.

In the prize distribution ceremony, Punjab’s Harjeet Singh and Jugraj were named player of the tournament and best goalkeeper respectively while Nilam Sanjeev Xess and Joseph Toppo of Hockey Odisha were named as the best deep defender and best forward of the championship respectively.