Home STATE CITY Prof RV Rajakumar new director of IIT-B in Odisha capital

Prof RV Rajakumar new director of IIT-B in Odisha capital


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar/New Delhi, Apr 17:

RV Raja Kumar has been appointed as the director of IIT-Bhubaneswar in Odisha capital after his candidature got President Pranab Mukherjee’s approval on Thursday.

Courtesy: thehindu.com
Courtesy: thehindu.com

Notably, President Pranab Mukherjee is the appointing authority for all IITs.

Raja Kumar, an electronics professor in IIT Kharagpur, has been selected as the new director of IIT-Bhubaneswar. Besides, Pushpak Bhattacharya and Sarit Kumar Das will head as the directors of Patna and Ropar IITs, respectively.

While Bhattacharya is professor of Computer Science and Engineering at IIT-Bombay, Das is a professor of Mechanical Engineering at IIT-Madras.

Their appointments came after the ministry had held a marathon round of selection process on March 22 and interviewed 36 IIT faculties for the three posts.

The interview was conducted afresh after the ministry had quashed an earlier selection process to appoint the new directors for the three IITs.