Home ODISHA LATEST Process for elections in 93 Odisha ULBs starts

Process for elections in 93 Odisha ULBs starts


Bhubaneswar: Process for holding of elections to 93 urban local bodies (ULBs) in Odisha scheduled for next year has kicked off with the State Election Commission (SEC) having written to the State government’s Urban Development department to complete delimitation of wards and reservation by the end of January next year.

“According to the provisions of the Constitution an elected body completes five years, i.e. completion of five years will be counted from the date of its first meeting. Between 2018 and 2019 tenure of three municipal corporations and 90 municipalities and NACs (Notified Area Councils) will end. For that, we requested the State government to finish ward delimitation and reservation of these 93 ULBs by January 31, 2018, and intimate the State Election Commission,” informed SEC Secretary Rabindranath Sahu today.

Notably, while the term of 66 ULBs including Berhampur Municipal Corporation will end on September 30, 2018, the tenure of 27 other ULBs will expire by December 4, 2018.