Home FEATURED ‘Phethai’ impact: Downpour in several Odisha districts; over 11K people evacuated

‘Phethai’ impact: Downpour in several Odisha districts; over 11K people evacuated


Bhubaneswar: With cyclone Phethai likely to cross Andhra Coast between Machlipatnam and Kakinada this afternoon, rain has already started at various places across the State today.

As per the weathermen, light rainfall has occurred at various places in districts like Balangir, Keonjhar, Koraput, Sambalpur, Subarnapur and Malkangiri. Besides, Twin City of Bhubaneswar and Cuttack is also witnessing drizzling since last evening. This apart, the sky has remained overcast in almost all parts of the State since morning.

Meanwhile, the Odisha Government has geared up to face the possible impacts of the cyclone.

In view of heavy to very heavy rain expected in Gajapati, the district administration has already shifted 11,600 people to 174 shelters. Besides, arrangements have been made to provide cooked food to 13,467 people.

“We are all prepared to face any kind eventuality due to the cyclone. People residing I low-laying areas are being shifted to safer places. As per the earlier instruction, farmers have already shifted their produces in their yards. Besides, a 24*7 control room has been opened to help needy,” said Collector Anupam Shah.

Yesterday, the regional Meteorological Department had sounded Orange Warning for four districts- Malkangiri, Koraput, Rayagada and Gajapati.

In the last 24 hours (ending at 8.30 AM today), light rainfall occurred in the all Southern districts. Districts like Balangir, Subarnapur, Sambalpur and Jharsuguda have also received light rainfall.

As per the MeT department, highest rainfall of 58 mm has occurred in Narla block of Kalahandi district followed by 49 mm in Sinapali block and 47 mm in Boden block of Nuapada district.

For today, the IMD  has issued heavy to very heavy rainfall warning for four districts- Malkangiri, Koraput, Rayagada and Gajapati and heavy rainfall warning for other 11 districts- Ganjam, Puri, Nabarangpur, Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Nuapada, Bargarh, Balangir, Jharsuguda, Sambalpur and Sundargarh.