Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Feb 9:

The Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) and the Department of Posts (DOP) have decided to offer passport services at head post offices across the country, including at three places in Odisha.

Representative Pic

This comes after the success of a pilot project. The Union government has now decided to scale up this programme by opening 56 such facilities across the country.

The head post offices at Rourkela, Koraput and Sambalpur would act as regional centres for providing documentation services to applicants. The centres would be called as Post Office Passport Seva Kendra (POPSK).

The centres would provide offline as well as online services for greater reach to the people in view of surge in applications.

The MEA and the DOP announced on 24 January their decision to utilize the Head Post Offices (HPO) in the various States as Post Office Passport Seva Kendra (POPSK) for delivering passport related services to the citizens of our country. The objective of this partnership is to extend passport services on a larger scale and to ensure wider area coverage.

The pilot projects for this joint venture between MEA and DOP was inaugurated on 25 January, 2017 at the HPO at Mysuru in Karnataka by Ananth Kumar, Minister for Chemicals & Fertilizers and Parliamentary Affairs; and at the Post Office at Dahod in Gujarat by Gen (Retd.) Dr. V.K.Singh, Minister of State for External Affairs, and Jaswantsinh Sumanbhai Bhabhor, Minister of State for Tribal Affairs, Government of India. The POPSK at these two places have been running successfully since their inauguration. One hundred appointments are being released every day for each of these POPSK.