Home ODISHA LATEST Panel on Odisha Legislative Council submits report to CM

Panel on Odisha Legislative Council submits report to CM


Bhubaneswar: The committee constituted for the proposed Odisha Legislative Council today submitted its report to Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

Nrusingha Sahu, Transport Minister and Chairman of the committee, submitted the report to Patnaik. With the development, possibility of formation of a Legislative Council in Odisha has gained momentum.

The committee had visited Bihar and Telangana to study the functioning of the Legislative Councils there. The panel studied the resolution passed by the Telangana Legislative Assembly for setting up of the Vidhan Parishad.

It had toured Maharashtra and Karnataka in 2015 for the same purpose.

Notably, the State Government had in 2015 formed the committee headed by Transport Minister Nrusingha Charan Sahu. It has three members from the ruling BJD– Nrusingha Charan Sahu, Pramila Mallik and Manohar Randhari; and two Opposition members Bhujabal Majhi and Nitesh Gangdev of the Congress and BJP, respectively.