Home FEATURED Odisha’s two players secure berth in Indian team for Hockey World Cup

Odisha’s two players secure berth in Indian team for Hockey World Cup


Bhubaneswar: Two players from Odisha have been selected in the 18-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team who will represent the host nation at the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup-2018 scheduled to begin on November 28 at the Kalinga Hockey Stadium here.

The two players are defenders Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas. The team will be led by Manpreet Singh while the vice-captain is Chinglensana Singh Kangujam. The Indian team, scheduled to begin their campaign against South Africa on the opening day, features PR Sreejesh and Krishan Bahadur Pathak as goalkeepers.

Odisha’s experienced defender Birendra Lakra, who makes a comeback into the team after missing out the Hero Asian Champions Trophy in Muscat last month due to rehabilitation, will be joined by fellow Odia Amit Rohidas, Surender Kumar, Kothajit Singh and 2016 Junior World Cup winners Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar to form India’s defence with three of them specialized as drag flickers.

The midfield will see the dynamic Manpreet Singh who played a pivotal role in India’s campaign as defending Champions at the Hero Asian Champions Trophy. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam will add to the experience in the center along with young guns Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma also of the Junior World Cup team and Hardik Singh, who made his International debut last month.

The forward line will see the experienced Akashdeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Lalit Upadhyay and Junior World Cup winners Mandeep Singh, Simranjeet Singh.

India grouped in Pool C along with World No.3 Belgium, Canada and South Africa will need to finish on top of the pool to secure a place in the Quarter Final.

“We have chosen the best available combinations for the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018. We had to make some tough decisions to select 18 out of a very strong pool of 34 players. The final 18 are a mix of experienced and youth and have been selected on the basis of their current form and fitness. These players have consistently shown their potential in the lead up to the showpiece event and I am confident India will put up a fighting performance,” asserted Chief Coach Harendra Singh.




P R Sreejesh

Krishan Bahadur Pathak



Harmanpreet Singh

Birendra Lakra

Varun Kumar

Kothajit Singh Khadangbam

Surender Kumar

Amit Rohidas



Manpreet Singh (Captain)

Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Vice Captain)

Nilakanta Sharma

Hardik Singh




Akashdeep Singh

Mandeep Singh

Dilpreet Singh

Lalit Kumar Upadhyay

Simranjeet Singh