Odisha’s 25 blocks register heavy rains due to depression

Bhubaneswar: At least 25 blocks in eight districts recorded heavy rains due to depression formed over the Bay of Bengal in the past 24 hours.

The districts included — Balasore, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Khordha, Mayurbhanj, Nayagarh, Puri and Rayagada.

An average rainfall of 160.952 mm was recorded in 25 blocks till 8 am on Friday.

The highest rainfall of 274 mm was recorded in Kanas block in Puri district.

Three other blocks also recorded more than 200 mm rainfall. They are Khunta and GB Nagar in Mayurbhanj district (217.2 mm each) and Chilika in Puri (207 mm), informed Special Relief Commissioner on Facebook.

While average rainfall in Odisha was recorded 48.2 mm today, the highest rainfall of 153.0 mm. was recorded in Puri followed by 118.7 mm. in Balasore, 116.2 mm. in Khordha, 113.5 mm. in Jagatsinghpur, 107.8 mm. in Jajpur, 85.2 mm. in Bhadrak, 75.4 mm. in Nayagarh, 73.6 mm. in Kendrapara, 72.7 mm. in Mayurbhanj, 70.1 mm. in Gajapati, 68.7 mm. in Cuttack, 57.8 mm. in Dhenkanal, 55.3 mm. in Ganjam, 55.0 mm. in Keonjhar, 49.9 mm. in Kandhamal, 47.0 mm. in Rayagada, 23.1 mm. in Angul, 23.0 mm. in Kalahandi, 18.4 mm. in Boudh, 10.8 mm. in Nabarangpur, 9.1 mm. in Koraput, 8.2 mm. in Bolangir, 6.7 mm. in Deogarh, 5.7 mm. in Malkangiri, 5.4 mm. in Sundargarh, 5.2 mm. in Sambalpur, 5.0 mm. in Subarnapur, 4.1 mm. in Bargarh, 2.0 mm. in Nuapada and 0.8 mm. in Jharsuguda.

In view of the damages due to the incessant rain across Odisha, the heavy rainfall has been defined as State Specific Disaster in the local context.

The Special Relief Commissioner recommended the State for undertaking relief measures and immediate repair and restoration of public infrastructure from State Disasters Response Fund (SDRF).

Also Read

Comments are closed.