Home STATE Odisha varsities have utilised just 11% of UGC funds in three years!

Odisha varsities have utilised just 11% of UGC funds in three years!


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Jul 10:

Taking a leaf out of the Odisha government’s book, universities in the state have failed to utilise the sumptuous grants given by the University Grant Commission (UGC) for their infrastructural development.

Utkal University
Utkal University

Out of a total of Rs 3729 lakh sanctioned by the UGC in 2012-13, 2013-14 and 2014-15, the state universities, till date, have utilised only 11.27 percent of the funds and not submitted the utilisation certificate (UC) to the Commission.

The Commission has expressed its dissatisfaction against these universities for their gross failure in the optimum utilisation of the sanctioned fund.

Barring Brahmapur University,which has managed to submit the UC for more than 50 percent (Rs 340.18 lakh) of the total amount (Rs 623.20 lakh) and National Law University, Odisha (NLUO), which has submitted the UC for 28.88 percent (Rs 80 lakh) of the total amount (Rs 280 lakh) it had received in the last three years, the remaining universities have not yet submitted the UC to the Commission.

These universities are Fakir Mohan University (Rs 400 lakh), North Odisha University (Rs 320 lakh), Ravenshaw University (Rs 379.60 lakh), Sambalpur University (Rs 582 lakh), Sri Jagannath Sanskruta University (Rs 339.20 lakh), Utkal University (Rs 526.40 lakh) and Vir Surendra Sai University of Technology (VSSUT) (Rs 280 lakh).

As per the 12th Plan allocation of the UGC, Brahmapur University is going to receive Rs 1548 lakh, Fakir Mohan University- Rs 1000 lakh, North Odisha University- Rs 800 lakh, Ravenshaw University-Rs 949 lakh, Sambalpur University- Rs 1455 lakh, Sri Jagannath Sanskruta University- Rs 848 lakh, Utkal University-Rs 1316 lakh, Vir Surendra Sai University of Technology (VSSUT)- Rs 700 lakh and National Law University (NLU)- Rs 700 lakh.