Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha targets NFSA implementation in 10 dists by Sept

Odisha targets NFSA implementation in 10 dists by Sept


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Cuttack, Jul 25:

The Odisha government has set a target of implementing the National Food Security Act (NFSA) in 10 districts before September this year.


The 10 districts where the NFSA would be implemented are Cuttack, Jajpur, Baleswar, Bhadrak, Jagatsinghpur, Nayagarh, Mayurbhanj, Khordha, Kendrapara and Puri.

A meeting to this effect, presided over by Food Supply and Consumer Welfare minister Sanjay Dasburma, was held at the office of the Revenue Divisional Commissioner (Central Division) here this afternoon.

Briefing newsmen after the meeting, the minister said the meeting stressed elimination of ineligible beneficiaries from the list to allow opportunity to the genuine beneficiaries to avail the benefits under the Act.

“We will issue digitised ration cards to the beneficiaries only after the elimination of fake beneficiaries from the list”, he added.

The meeting was attended by the Industries and School and Mass Education minister Debi Prasad Mishra, government chief whip Ananta Das and secretary, Food Supply and Consumer Welfare, Madhusudan Padhi.