Home BIG STORY Odisha State Film Awards: Pranab Patnaik to get Jayadev Award, ‘Chini’ best...

Odisha State Film Awards: Pranab Patnaik to get Jayadev Award, ‘Chini’ best movie


Bhubaneswar: The 28th Odisha State Film Awards, to be conferred by the Department of Culture of the Government of Odisha, were announced today.

Veteran singer Pranab Patnaik will receive the prestigious Jayadev Puraskar, lifetime achievement award for contribution to the Odia film industry.

While ‘Chini’ has been adjudged as the best film, Ajay Rath will be conferred with best director award for the movie ‘Namard’.

Similarly, Samaresh Routray has won the best actor award for ‘Namard’ and Sangita Mohapatra, popularly known as Lipi, has bagged the best actress award for the movie ‘Mimansa’.

The awards have been announced for a total of 27 categories. Here are the winners of other popular categories:

Best Supporting Actor– Minaketan (Mimansa)

Best Supporting Actress– Mahasweta Ray (Dele Dhara Katha Sare)

Best Comedy Artist– Chittaranjan Tripathy (Love You Jessica)

Best Music Director– Goodly Rath (Tu Kahibu Na Mu)

Best Singer (Male)– Sashank (Tu Kahibu Na Mu)

Best Singer (Female)– Mahalakshmi Iyer (Mimansa)

Worth mentioning, the awards, initiated in 1968, are decided by independent juries formed by the Department of Culture. The jury usually consists of eminent personalities from the film fraternity, academician, journalist and public servants.