Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha seeks Centre nod for 9 polytechnic institutes in state

Odisha seeks Centre nod for 9 polytechnic institutes in state


Reported by Chinmaya Dehury
Bhubaneswar, May 2:

The Odisha government has urged the Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD) to accord approval for nine polytechnics, which are on the verge of completion, and ready to commence operations during the academic year 2014-15.Odisha Govt Logo

Chief secretary JK Mohapatra has requested Ashok Thakur, secretary, Department of Higher Education of MHRD to advise the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) to accord approval for the polytechnics at the earliest.

The nine polytechnics are located at Jajpur, Kalahandi, Nuapada, Puri, Angul, Bargarh, Baudh, Koraput and Nayagarh.

“The proposed new buildings have been inspected by the expert visit team of AICTE. In the meantime, appropriate steps have been taken to comply the deficiencies pointed out by the team. I would, therefore, request you to kindly advise the AICTE to grant approval for the nine polytechnics at the earliest so that these can commence operation during the academic year 2014-15,” said Mohapatra in the letter.

It may be noted here that the MHRD had proposed to set up 22 government polytechnics in the under-served and un-covered districts of the state under the scheme of “Submission on Polytechnic”.

A sum of Rs 12.30 crore has been sanctioned for each polytechnic to be set up in the state.

In August, 2013, the AICTE had given its nod to eight polytechnics to commence classes in the 2013-14 academic year.