Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 30

Three senior BJD leaders Prasanna Acharya, Bishnu Charan Das and N Bhaskar Rao today filed their nominations for the three Rajya Sabha seats of Odisha that will fall vacant from July 1.

RS polls

The three leaders filed their nominations with the returning officer at the Odisha Assembly in the presence of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik for the June 11 polls.

While Prasanna Acharya was the first file his nomination, Bishnu Charan Das was second and N Bhaskar Rao was the last of file his papers.

As per the statutory provisions each candidate filed two sets of nomination papers.

To get elected to the Upper House of the Parliament each candidate requires the support of 37 MLAs since BJD has the requisite numbers, all the three will get elected hassle free.

Elections will be held for the three Rajya Sabha seats as the term of three members BJD members Bhupinder Singh, Pyari Mohan Mohapatra and Baisnab Charan Parida will expire on July 1.