Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha Rajya Sabha seats: Who will get which seat finally ?

Odisha Rajya Sabha seats: Who will get which seat finally ?


Reported by Chinmaya Dehury

Bhubaneswar, June 22:

Even though BJD president Naveen Patnaik nominated AU Singhdeo and Bhupindar Singh for the two vacant Rajya Sabha seats from Odisha, by-polls to which will be held on July 3, the party supremo has kept everyone guessing over who will get the maximum term in the upper house.

Bhupinder Singh & AU Singhdeo
Bhupinder Singh & AU Singhdeo

The seats had fallen vacant after two BJD Rajya Sabha members Sashi Bhusan Behera and Rabi Narayan Mohapatra contested election to the state Assembly and won. While the seat vacated by Behera has two years of its tenure left, the other seat vacated by Mohapatra has a term of three years and eight months.

If party sources are to be believed, Singh may replace Mohapatra and Singhdeo may get the two-year seat in Rajya Sabha.

However, AU Singhdeo today said no decision has been taken in this regard by the chief minister and he is expected to clear the air soon.

“The media reports are completely false. The chief minister has not confirmed yet who will replace whom. He is likely to make the announcement today,” said Singhdeo.