Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha polls : Some interesting facts

Odisha polls : Some interesting facts


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 17:

Here are some interesting facts about  the results of the twin polls in Odisha.

@ Present Odisha Assembly speaker Pradip Amat has set a new record as no previous speaker had won the election while occupying the chair.

@ Senior BJD leader and former Finance minister Prafulla Ghadei had broken the trend of sitting Finance ministers losing elections in the 2009 polls. However, the trend has been set again by the present Finance minister Prasanna Acharya after his defeat by a very narrow margin in the Bijepur constituency.

@ Two senior Congress leaders who had joined the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) before the elections, have been defeated.

@ The victory of two Rajya Sabha members Rabi Narayan Mohapatra and Sashi Bhusan Behera  in the Assembly elections, would necessitate fresh elections for the two vacant seats. Dilip Tirkey who lost to Jual Oram in the Sundargarh Lok Sabha seat is not likely to resign from his post and will continue as a Rajya Sabha MP.

@ The newly formed outfit Samata Kranti Dal, contesting the polls in Odisha for the first time, has got one Assembly seat with George Tirkey winning the Biramitrapur seat.

@ Six doctor-turned leaders have won the elections. They are, Dr Raseswari Panigrahi, Dr Ramesh Chandra Chyaupatnaik, Dr Pramod Mallick, Dr Nrusingh Sahu,  Dr Prafulla Majhi and Dr. Priyanshu Pradhan.


  1. No. Six doctors have entered into Odisha Legislative Assembly. you have not mentioned the name of Dr. Priyanshu Pradhan a young physician won Chatrapur seat in BJD ticket. Dr. Priyanshu defeated his nearest CPI rival Krushna Chandra Nayak by a margin of 22, 019 votes. While Dr. Priyanshu polled 53221 votes, Krushna Chandra polled 31202 votes.

Comments are closed.