Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha polls: Assets of candidates range from ‘zero’ to Rs 50 cr

Odisha polls: Assets of candidates range from ‘zero’ to Rs 50 cr


Reported by Santosh Jagdev

Bhubaneswar, Apr 2:

Only one out of the 97 candidates who have filed their nominations for the 10 Lok Sabha seats where polls will be held in the first phase on April 10 has declared ‘zero’ assets.

Ashok Mittal, who is contesting the Lok Sabha seat from Bargarh constituency on an All-India Trinamool Congress (AITC) ticket, has declared in the mandatory sworn affidavit while filing nomination that he has no assets, making him the poorest candidates to fight Lok Sabha polls.

This was part of the findings of an analysis of the affidavits of candidate done by Odisha Election Watch (OEW), in collaboration with the Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR) released here today.

The affidavit filed by Mittal, having Matriculation as his educational qualification, with the nomination form has “zero” written against the columns meant for moveable and immovable assets, the analysis revealed.

The analysis also revealed that out of 97 candidates analysed, 26 are crorepatis of which eight candidates have more than Rs 5 crores worth of assets. Hemandra Chandra Singh, the BJD candidate from Kandhamal constituency, ranks number one with total assets more than Rs 50 crore followed by Harihara Karan of INCin the same constituency (Rs 9 crore) and Kalikesh Narayan Singhdeo of BJD from Bolangir constituency (Rs 8 crore).

Seventeen candidates have declared assets of less than Rs 2 lakhs. The three candidates with lowest assets are Balaram Hota of CPI (ML) from Kalahandi constituency with Rs 1,150 followed by Lawrencia Lakra of IND from Sundargarh constituency (Rs 1,500) and Prakash Hikaka of CPI (ML) RedSstar from Koraput constituency (Rs 2,500), the report said.

Fifteen candidates have declared liabilities of above Rs 10 lakhs. The list was topped by Kalikesh Singhsdeo with liabilities worth Rs 2.44 crores followed by Dhananda Kanta Mishra of AAP from Berhampur constituency (Rs 56.62 lakhs) and Hemendra Chandra Singh of BJD from Kandhamal constituency (Rs 47.86 lakhs).

Eleven candidates have declared total annual income of over 10 lakhs. Amarnath Pradhan of INC from Sambalpur constituency has declared the highest total income of Rs 44.33 lakhs followed by Balabhadra Majhi of BJD from Nabarangpur constituency with Rs 19.89 lakhs and Kalikesh with Rs 18.85 lakhs of total income, the report added.