Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha polls: 185 file papers as nominations close for first phase

Odisha polls: 185 file papers as nominations close for first phase


Odisha Sun Times Bureau

Bhubaneswar, Mar 22:

As many as 185 candidates, including some of the big names from all parties, filed their nominations as nominations for the simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Odisha closed on Saturday.

A total of 10 Lok Sabha seats and 70 Assembly constituencies would go to polls in the first phase of elections scheduled on April 10.

Out of the 185, 173 filed their nominations for 39 Assembly seats while 12 filed nominations for four Lok Sabha seats today, revealed a release issued by the office of the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) here this evening.

Among the prominent leaders who filed their nomination papers today are senior Congress leader and former union minister Chandrasekhar Sahu in Berhampur Lok Sabha constituency, his party colleague and sitting MP Amarnath Pradhan in Sambalpur and senior BJP leaders Jual Oram and Suresh Pujari in Sundargarh and Sambalpur respectively.

In Balangir Assembly constituency, former minister Narsingh Mishra filed his nomination as the Congress candidate, while A U Singhdeo, also a former state minister, filed his papers as the BJD nominee.

State BJP president K V Singhdeo filed his nomination for Patnagarh assembly constituency, which he has been represented four times consecutively.

Scrutiny of nominations for the first phase election is scheduled to be held on March 24 while candidates can withdraw their nominations on March 26, said an official of SEO.

The last date for filing nomination for the second phase of election for 11 Lok Sabha and 77 Assembly constituencies in the state is March 26.