Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha polls : BJD sweep continues

Odisha polls : BJD sweep continues


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 16:

The ruling BJD continues to maintain its sweep both in the Lok Sabha and Assembly polls in Odisha. At 4 pm it was leading in 111 Assembly seats and in 17 out of 21 Lok Sabha seats.

Naveen Patnaik
Naveen Patnaik

At 3.30 PM Kalahandi BJD candidate Arka Keshari Deo was leading by a margin of 6234 votes over the BJP candidate Pradipta Kumar Naik.

In Koraput, BJD candidate Jhina Hikaka was leading by 3875 votes against his rival Congress candidate Giridhar Gamang.

In Sundargarh, BJD candidate Dilip Tirkey was leading by 6776 votes over the BJP candidate Jual Oram.

BJP’s Subash Chouhan is leading in Bargarh seat by a margin of 9466 over BJD’s Prabhas Kumar Singh.

In Assembly segments, Congress is leading in 18 seats while BJP is ahead in 12 seats and AOP in one seat.

PCC president Jayadev Jena is trailing in Anandpur by over 17,000 votes while Anshuman Mohanty of the Congress is leading in Rajnagar by over 1600 votes.

In Jharsuguda, the sitting Congress MLA Naba Das had a comfortable lead of 8300 plus votes over his nearest rival.

Both Samatakranti and JMM are leading in one seat each and Independents in two seats.