Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha poll tally : It’s 20 in Lok Sabha, 117 seats in...

Odisha poll tally : It’s 20 in Lok Sabha, 117 seats in Assembly for BJD


Odisha Sun Times Bureau

Bhubaneswar, May 17:

It has been a near clean sweep for the Biju Janata Dal in the twin polls in Odisha.

Although the official announcement on the final tally is awaited, unofficial sources confirmed that the ruling party has bagged as many as 20 of the 21 Lok Sabha seats and 117 of the 147 Assembly seats.Naveen odisha gov in

While the principal opposition party in the state, the Indian National Congress,  has drawn a blank in the Lok Sabha polls, it has managed to win just 16 seats in the Assembly.

The national party had won 27 Assembly and 6 Lok Sabha seats in 2009

The BJP, which was expected to do well this time has had to remain satisfied with just one Lok Sabha seat and 10 Assembly seats. The lone BJP winner in the parliamentary polls is former Union minister Jual Oram from Sundargarh.

The party had won 6 seats in the Assembly and scored a duck in the parliamentary polls in 2009.

Independents have won 4 Assembly seats and of them, two are known to have been BJD rebels.

Among the prominent leaders who lost  the Assembly poll by narrow margins include Ama Odisha Party president Soumya Ranjan Patnaik  who lost to his BJD rival Anubhab Patnaik by just 601 votes in Khandapada and firebrand Congress leader Lalatendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra who wqaas defeated by BJD’s sitting MLA Sanjay Das Barma in Brahmagiri Assembly seat by a margin of 1340 votes.

Senior BJP leader Bijoy Mohapatra, who was clearly a target of the ruling party, lost to Atanu Sabyasachi of the BJD by a little over 6000 votes, sources said.