Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha by-poll: Polling parties leave for booths

Odisha by-poll: Polling parties leave for booths


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Nayagarh, Oct 13:

With only two days left for the Kandhamal Lok Sabha by-elections in Odisha, the polling parties began leaving for their respective booths this morning.

File Pic
File Pic

To ensure timely arrival of the polling parties, 183 vehicles have been arranged.

The office of the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) has engaged a total of 1,081 polling officials for the smooth conduct of the election. It has appointed Sumit Haldar as poll observer and Prasanna Kumar as expenditure observer.

The SEC has also appointed 24 sector officers for a total of 221 booths and a nodal officer for each booth to oversee poll proceedings.

Apart from this, eight teams have been formed to keep an eye on law and order while four flying squads, three static surveillance teams, two video surveillance teams and one video viewing team have been formed to ensure strict adherence to the model code of conduct, which is in force from September 12 to October 22.

Voting will begin from 7 AM to 4 PM on October 15 while counting of votes would begin at the Nayagarh Autonomous College at 8 AM on October 19.

The results would be announced in the afternoon the same day.