Home FEATURED Odisha: One more senior Congress leader resigns

Odisha: One more senior Congress leader resigns


Bhubaneswar: In yet another major jolt to the Odisha Congress, senior leader Pranay Sahu, who unsuccessfully contested Bijepur bypoll last year, today resigned from the party.

Sahu has tendered his resignation to Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) President  Niranjan Patnaik. However, it is yet to be ascertained as to which party he will join next.

Sahu alleged that after his defeat in Bijepur bypoll last year, he had requested the party leadership to find out the reason behind the defeat, but in vain. “Besides, I did not play any role in revamp of the party. All these made me quit the party,” he added.

Earlier on January 18, senior Congress leader Jogesh Singh resigned from MLA post and from the party’s primary membership, a day after he was suspended for making anti-party comments.

On January 16, Jharsuguda MLA Naba Kishore Das resigned from the primary membership of the party and announced to join ruling BJD.