Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha govt shortlists 10 names for membership of IIIT Board of Governors

Odisha govt shortlists 10 names for membership of IIIT Board of Governors


Reported by Chinmaya Dehury
Bhubaneswar, Oct 22:

The Odisha government has drawn up a list of 10 names, out of which six would be recommended to the Board of Governors of the International Institute of Information Technology (IIIT) University, Bhubaneswar to manage its affairs.


A search committee meeting, held under the chairmanship of IT secretary, has recommended 10 names for the Governing Body, out of which six will be nominated to the Board of Governors, said sources in the IT department.

According to the provisions, three persons of eminence in the field of IT or related disciplines and three persons representing the IT industry can be members of the Governing body for IIIT University.

However, the committee has recommended 10 names, including five persons of eminence from the field of IT and five representing the IT industry.

The five eminent personalities are Bhubaneswar-IIT director Sujit Roy, Debabrat Das of Bangalore-IIIT, Hyderabad-IIIT director PJ Narayanan, Kharagpur-IIT director Partha Pratim Chakraborthy and Kharagpur-IIT ex-professor Omkarnath Mohanty.

The five names from IT industry recommended by the committee are Mind Tree chairman Subroto Bagchi, STPI DG Omkar Rai, Nasscom chairman R Chandrasekhar, founder and ex-chairman Mastek Ashank Desai and Ganesh Natarajan of Zenshar Technology.

The Institute was converted into a unitary university by the Government of Odisha on 20th January, 2014.