Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha govt recommends names for 2015 Padma awards

Odisha govt recommends names for 2015 Padma awards


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Sep 27:

The Odisha government’s General Administration department has recently recommended a list of names to the Central government for the prestigious Padma awards that would be announced a day before Republic Day next year.

The list has been sent to the Union ministry of Home Affairs, sources said.Odisha Govt

The long list of names recommended for the next year’s Padmashri awards includes Ikat weaver Surendra Meher, master terracotta artisan Debraj Sahoo, filmmaker Nilamadhab Panda, Chandrasekhar Rath, Debendra Mishra, cardiologist Pratap Chandra Rath (Medicine), Odissi dance guru Durga Charan Ranbir, tie and dye artist Sarat Kumar Patra (Art), Pattachitra artiste Bijay Kumar Parida(Art), singer Prafulla Kar(Art), painter Dinanath Pathy(Art, literature and culture),former IAS officer and poet Rajendra Kishore Panda(literature), Pattachitra artiste Bhramarabar Nayak, filmmaker and actor Sadhu Meher(Cinema), Odissi dancer Sujata Mohapatra (daughter-in-law of late Odissi dance guru Kelucharan Mohapatra), neurosurgeon and director of Bhubaneswar AIIMS Dr Ashok Mohapatra (Medicine), developmental economist and professor emeritus in University of California Prashant Patnaik, economist and former professor in JNU’s Centre for Economic Studies and Planning Prabhat Patnaik, former vice chancellor of Pune’s Defence Institute of Advanced Technology Prof Lalit Mohan Patnaik, Odissi dancer Aruna Mohanty, educationist Jaydev Mishra and activist fighting for differently-abled persons Sruti Mohapatra.

For the Padmabhusan award, the state government’s recommendations for next year are for linguist Prof Debi Prasanna Patnaik, eminent poet and playwright and former IAS officer Jagannath Prasad Das, Odissi classical singer Sunanda Patnaik, renowned bilingual writer Manoj Das and Jnanpith award winner Prativa Ray.

Internationally renowned sand artist Sudarshan Patnaik, Odissi dancer Geeta Mahalik, gastroenterologist Subrat Kumar Acharya, and scientist Ajay Parida were awarded Padmashri this year.

Last year, stone sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra was awarded Padma Vibhushan while retina surgeon Dr Taraprasad Das and pattachitra and modern artist Kailash Chandra Meher were awarded Padmashri.

Similarly, Pondicherry-based Manoj Das was awarded the Padmashri in 2001 while Pratibha Ray was awarded the same in 2007.

Professor Debi Prasanna Patnaik was instrumental in getting Odia the status of a classical language, the sixth in the country, earlier this year.

The state government has, however, made no recommendations for Padma Vibhushan awards.


  1. Biju patnaik former chief minister of Odisha should have been recommended for Bharat Ratna for his heroic deeds

Comments are closed.