Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha govt constitutes search panel to appoint Lokayukta

Odisha govt constitutes search panel to appoint Lokayukta


Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government on Monday constituted a seven-member search committee to recommend names for the selection of Lokayukta.

The move came after the directive of the Supreme Court in this regard.

The committee members were selected at a meeting presided over by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik at the State Guest House here this afternoon.

As per the decision, the seven-member committee will be led by Justice Amitava Roy, the retired Judge of the Supreme Court and former Chief Justice of Orissa High Court.

The committee will have former Odisha DGP Gopal Nanda, ex-IAS officer Sanjiv Hota, , former IAS officer Dr RN Bohidar, Dr Bidhu Bhusan Samal, Prof Snigdha Patnaik of XIMB and Vice Chancellor of National Law University, Bangalore, Dr Venkata Rao Rambhatla as members.

The search committee will select five persons for the post of Lokayukta Chairperson, while it will select 15 persons for the appointment of five members committee.

Sources said the committee will recommend the names to the selection committee by January after which the selection committee will select a 6-member Lokayukta Mandal, including the Lokayukta Chairperson, at a meeting in February next year.

Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court Justice KS Jhaveri; retired Supreme Court Judge Justice Ananga Patnaik, Speaker of the State Assembly Pradip Amat and leader of the Opposition Narasingha Mishra were present at the meeting.

Notably, the Lokayukta Bill was passed in the Odisha Assembly on February 14, 2014.